Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With longer, warmer days comes the inevitable pull to go outside and play sports so this weeks theme was a natural one. I wanted to photograph our local Minor League baseball team “The Salt Lake Bees” like I did a few years ago (see that post here) However it was a cold and rainy day for their home game and my family didn’t feel like paying to watch the rain fall on a baseball field.

I on the other hand thought that it would make a great shot that would recall my many years of playing baseball and all the numerous rain delays.

Rain delay! 3 shot HDR

Rain delay! 7 shot HDR

I took this shot using the Gorillapod so I could get really low with the 70-300mm and get a good compression on the background and allow me to show some of the grass past third base for a little color contrast.

I only wish that it hadn’t stopped raining just before I took the shot as falling and splashing rain would have made this shot that much better.

Thanks as always for stopping by, I hope you get outside and enjoy the warmer weather.

Happy Shooting!

Howard