Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With such a  nice wide open theme as “Blue” I decided to run with it and had my daughter help me since spinning water, dropping food coloring and snapping the shutter all by yourself just doesn’t work out too well (I know I tried) I set this up in a large flower vase on our kitchen table with two YN-560 flashes on either side in softboxes triggered with Cactus V5 triggers. I would stir the water with a large spoon until I had a nice deep “cone” going and my daughter would drop in two or three drops of food coloring.  The photo was then cropped and flipped in photoshop.

Blue Flame-1-web I love how dynamic the coloring becomes in spinning water.

Now with a simple “Negative” curves adjustment layer you get yellow/gold on black!

golden flame on black-inverse blue-web

Here’s a bonus one for you

Golden flames_Blue Invert_DSC2164-webThat little trick was one of those happy accidents I found a few years ago when I first tried to photograph food coloring and water.

Goes to show that it’s good to sometimes just play with sliders and presets in your photo software.

I hope you give it a try sometime with various colors and drops etc, have fun!

Happy Shooting!

Howard

