Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Whew I made it! This years 52 week challenge was all I expected it to be and more! I was definitely pushed to try new things, I reached out to more people and took more chances and as a result I got to shoot my first rodeo and demolition derby, I also sold more prints yet I failed at a few shots and had to improvise a shot more weeks than I care to admit, but I did it and I’m excited to see what I can come up with in 2014.

2014 is here, let the magic out and lets go!

Present-lights1

I wanted to try something I haven’t done before and I was inspired by a short video that the always amazing Gavin Hoey did for Adorama TV (a great free resource) Here’s the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJqeUW6QSvI

How did I do on my version? I personally think I should have found a better surface to sit the box on, something soft and velvety would have been better.

For 2014 I have a desire to really push myself to travel farther for the shot and to take more “people” pictures. Shooting portraits is a terrifying thing for me since I’m not comfortable and secure in my portrait abilities so pushing myself to learn and get better in that area will be a goal for the new year. I also just want to see more of this great state I live in, we have so much to explore and see, I’ve been hampered by a work schedule that limits my abilities and I’m hoping to change that this year, I appreciate any thoughts and prayers you can throw my way in that regard.

As always none of this is possible without the help, patience and understanding and love of my wonderful family, you know that “Dad gets a little cranky when he doesn’t have a shot by Sunday” and they put up with me for no other reason than unconditional love and I’m eternally grateful for that!

I’m also so very grateful for each and every one of you that stops by whether it’s for a quick peek or to comment and ask questions I really do appreciate it. Thank you all so very much.

Happy New Year and Happy Shooting!

Howard

