Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Giving Thanks” is not something that we should do just one day out of the year or even during an entire season, but rather something we should do continually every day of our lives! When I saw this weeks theme I was a little overwhelmed since so many things came flooding into my mind of what I’m grateful for and how I could possibly photograph it.

Ultimately all I have been blessed with is because of my Savior Jesus Christ, I am an active member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (Mormon) as such I believe that Jesus lived, atoned, died, and was resurrected. I believe we can all have a personal relationship with Him and that He knows everything we feel for he has suffered it already and that we can all have a very real and personal relationship with Him.

How do you take a photograph of that?…

ChristusLocated in the heart of Salt Lake City is Temple Square at the north side of it there is a Visitors Center that houses amazing works of Religious art and various displays teaching the Gospel of Jesus Christ. In a spectacularly illustrated room representing the early creation of the universe is this giant marble statue of Jesus named the “Christus” It is a replica of the famous statue that Bertel Thorvaldsen was commissioned to sculpt of Jesus and the apostles for the Church of Our Lady in Copenhagen. That statue of Jesus was completed in 1821, this 11 foot tall replica was bought by Stephen L. Richards and presented to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints in the 1950’s and placed in this display in 1966. It is free to visit and is quite an amazing piece of art.

Christus-feet Christus-Hand

Christus_Dad-Daughter Christus-wideangle closeup-arms wideChristus-Side view-3-4_color

I sincerely hope that we can take the time each and every day to recognize our blessings and to give proper thanks for them. Whether you believe in God or not it will make a difference in your life if you acknowledge and appreciate what you have as a blessing.

Happy Shooting!

Howard

