Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This weeks theme really appealed to my inner pyro. Anytime I can play with fire and a camera it’s a good day!

Matchstick-Flame_Smoke combo-1

This is actually a composite of 3 images taken using the 85mm f/1.8 and a 20mm extension tube I lit it with a bare YN-560 flash at 1/4 power and snooted to avoid spill onto the background all triggered with the Cactus V5 triggers. I must have burned through half a box of matches to get the shots I wanted, and even though I had good ventilation that I would use between each shot I started to get light headed near the end and the smell of matches was stuck in my nose all day long.

Despite the mild CO poisoning I’m thrilled at the results and wanted to share them with you, I found that using 2-4 matches was the best way to get a lot of smoke with the added side benefit of big flames when they lit up.

Big flame-smoke Dual Smokey Matchsticks Dual Smokey Matchsticks2 Matchstick_no flame-2smokes combo-blue Matchstick_smoke-no flame Quad Matchsticks_Jelly Fish smoke Quad Smokey Matchsticks Single match-big flame-smokeYou’ll notice that this one had blue smoke, that was when I tried to use gels on the flash, I also experimented with a red gel but found that I preferred white smoke so I stayed with a bare flash.

Finally a composite of 8 images:

multi smoke-largeNot very natural but fun to see all the shapes in the smoke and I loved the big flame and smoke curl around it I got from 4 sticks.

Thanks for stopping by and seeing me play with fire and smoke.

Happy Shooting!

Howard

