Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Red! What’s the first thing that comes to mind? Chances are you and I thought of the same thing, and the point of this 52 week challenge is to try new things. Now I’m not saying that I haven’t taken the easy way out on some weeks because I definitely have done that this year, but whenever possible I try to think of and shoot something a little different, so after discarding the obvious ideas that came to mind for “Red” a glance in the mirror was the eye opener I needed. (Bad pun intended)

Eye2

I’m so tired…

It took me over a week to get this shot as it’s incredibly hard to get the eye in focus and to fill the frame when you can’t see what you’re shooting – go figure!

I shot this using the 50mm f/1.8 with 20mm and 36mm extension tubes. I found that by placing the tip of my nose against the rubber lens hood of the 50mm I could get an acceptably sharp image that filled most of the frame. Ideally I would have focus stacked to maximize the depth of field, but after about 100 images (I kid you not) my eye was drier than the Sahara Desert and I was done trying, luckily I had about a dozen shots of varying success to choose from.

Thanks for stopping by, I hope my gaze didn’t scare you too bad. I’m off to take a nap…

Happy Shooting!

Howard

