Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My son is taking a photography class this year in school and one of his assignments was to photograph certain architectural elements. I took him and my daughter downtown to wander around and within a half hour we had all his shots. As we were walking back to the car through the Main street plaza next to Temple Square we passed the large reflecting pond just as the setting sun was lighting up the Church Office Building the second tallest building in Salt Lake City and it’s reflection was stretching across the reflecting pond. My daughter unable to resist the allure of the water walked up to the pond and dipped her hand in and the droplets sent a series of rings out over the mostly still water interrupting the smooth reflections of the office buildings vertical lines, I quickly brought the camera up to my eye and snapped off a few shots! I had her repeat the process twice , but ended up liking my first shot best.

Golden light + Tall building + Ripples in a pond = Awesome!

Golden light + Tall building + Ripples in a pond = Awesome!

 

Seeing this through the point and shoot I grabbed the D7000 from my son and  ran over to shoot those ripples!

Seeing this through the point and shoot I grabbed the D7000 from my son and ran over to shoot those ripples!

Love is... handing over your D7000 to your son!

Love is… handing over your D7000 to your son!

Being tuned into and aware of “good” light can lead to photo opportunities that you may have missed otherwise. Having a camera at hand helps as well… 🙂

Happy Shooting!

Howard

