Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Perusing my G+ stream I ran across a video by Glyn Dewis explaining how to create a virtual black backdrop when shooting portraits. The examples on his website are insane! And the technique seemed straightforward enough…

Using my son and daughter as my semi-willing victims I decided to give it a go. I like to get a picture of them at the end of each school year and finding a good backdrop is always a challenge, using this technique solved that problem.

"Why So Serious?"

“Why So Serious?”

I love the contrast of expressions in this shot which was completely spontaneous, I was actually giving instructions to not smile which for my little girl apparently means giggle.

This happens when you tell them to get closer "like you actually like him"

And this happens when you tell them to get closer “like you actually like each other”

How can you not love these two?! I can't believe how much they've grown...

How can you not love these two?! I can’t believe how much they’ve grown…

Always up to the task of causing trouble, my kids and I pressured my wife into posing quickly for a picture.

Now you know where our kids get their good looks from!

Now you know where our kids get their good looks from!

I look forward to exploring this technique much more in the future.

Anyone want to volunteer to be my next victim…? 😉

Happy Shooting!

Howard

