Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Balloons? Really? Not a theme I was particularly enthused about shooting, but one that was going to at least give me a new shooting experience and that’s one of the reasons that I decided to do another 52 week challenge this year. My first idea was to capture a balloon bursting as it was shot by an airsoft BB and trigger it using my Nerotrigger. Unfortunately my sons airsoft gun as strong as it seems just couldn’t pop the balloon so plan B was to have him pop it by hand, so we decided to do it outside in the backyard and instead of using speedlights and a sound trigger I would use available light and hopefully a quick trigger finger on the shutter release cable.

Backlit from the setting Sun and triggered by hand. 1/2000 sec f/8 iso 400 70-300mm @300mm

Backlit from the setting Sun and triggered by hand. 1/2000 sec, f/8, iso 400, 70-300mm @300mm

That was our third try and I love how the water still holds the shape of the balloon while having that killer spray around the edges. Well that was so much fun lets do a few more…

The red balloon goes down! 1/2500 sec, f/8, iso400, 300mm

The red balloon goes down! 1/2500 sec, f/8, iso400, 300mm

I love the whole bubble look that happened here.

I love the whole bubble look that happened here.

Of course my daughter had to get in on it as well and what of course it had to be a pink one.

Of course my daughter had to get in on it as well and of course it had to be a pink one.

This one was a hair slower than most of the others and the mass of water had fallen farther.

This one was a hair slower than most of the others and the mass of water had fallen farther.

Look at  the ripples of the balloon as it collapses!

Look at the ripples of the balloon as it collapses!

I shot these using a 70-300mm lens at 300mm on Manual at 1/2000-1/2500 sec at f/8 and iso 400 which seemed to be fast enough to stop most of the droplets and with the bright setting sun behind it was plenty bright, although I think I would add a reflector to fill in a bit if I shot this again.

I was locked down on a tripod and shooting at continuous high mode with a shutter release cable, I would call out 3-2-1 and smash the trigger as the balloon was popped and surprisingly it worked most of the time.

The grizzly remains ;-) 3 shot HDR

The grizzly remains – 3 shot HDR

So despite my prior lack of enthusiasm for the subject it turned out to be quite a fun shoot that boosted my confidence in capturing high speed movement and as a bonus I got to stay dry and my kids got wet. 🙂

Happy Shooting!

Howard

