Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sweethearts! Any mention of these sugary treats is enough to send me reeling back through time to my elementary school days of shoebox Valentines Day boxes, silly cards, cheap candy, and the worry that the messages printed on the sweetheart might give a classmate of the female persuasion the wrong impression of your feelings for her. This was back in the days when you would handpick the candy and put it in the small envelope with the valentine. The one’s marked “You’re Cool” were in high demand as they were the safest ones to include, others were “UR #1” and “Be True” all obscure enough to be harmless.

I must have eaten thousands of the sappy ones to prevent accidental inclusion… Of course at home after class I had to open and read each valentine I received and try to interpret what it might mean, unless of course the disclaimer was given at time of deposit in the box that “My mom put the candy in”  in which case all was fair game and eaten without worry.

When Valentines week rolled around this year and the theme was “Love” I couldn’t resist blasting back to my past and photographing these little messages of heartfelt devotion and love.

Heart-Rose4-webTaken using the 50mm f/1.8 and the 20mm extension tube

I'm not scared of this one anymore...

I’m not scared of this one anymore…

50mm f/1.8 and the 12mm extension tube.

50mm f/1.8 and the 12mm extension tube.

And just in case you were wondering – yes I did eat them!

I hope you had a great Valentines and more importantly that there is love in your life everyday!

Happy Shooting!

Howard

 

