Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Think Small! Oh I was all over this one, my minds eye instantly saw the shot and I spent everyday of the week trying to make it happen, the only problem was that I had no control over one part of the shot – the Subject! I’ll explain, you see everyday as I drive to work I cross over a large railyard in Salt Lake City, and often they have lone engines or a few cars just sitting on the tracks. Using the Tilt Shift technique I wanted to turn those trains and the railyard into toys, add in the snow covering the ground and maybe even some steam rising from the engine and it would have been perfect!! Except that everyday I drove there it was empty!

So my back up plan was to shoot a macro of some small droplets hanging off a flower petal with what looked like the world suspended in the water. I’ve seen this before and it’s very impressive, and apparently also very difficult to pull off. Water droplets it turns out are about as hard to control as animals and children.

Enter the Backup to the Backup and this one also depended on factors well outside my realm of influence, however Mother Nature and pollution from an inversion layer co-operated enough to provide me with a few images.

These are not snowflakes in the sense that they did not fall out of storm clouds rather these are ice crystals formed when an inversion layer, cold air, and high humidity all mix together with a heavy dose of air pollution to create these small yet thick crystals.

Crystal-2-web

Sky Crystal

The same stack from a different angle.

The same stack from a different angle.

Crystal-4-webCrystal-1-webThese were so much more condensed than snowflakes, but very interesting to see up close.

All shots were made using my two sets of extension tubes and the 50mm f/1.8 with two YN-560 flashes using Cactus V5 triggers (can’t wait to get a ring flash)

Thanks for looking! Next post will finally have some color in it I promise…

Happy Shooting!

Howard

 

