Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Did you hear a rush of wind on Sunday night? That was my sigh of relief at finishing the LensProToGo.com’s 52 week challenge for 2012, of course it was quickly followed by a cough and sniffle as I’m ending 2012 the same way I started it – Sick! Despite that I was bound and determined to finish strong so I watched the weather as sunset approached on the 30th closely, and even with an inversion causing the valley to fill with smog I thought I might have a chance at grabbing a shot I’ve wanted to make for a long time. So I grabbed my son and we headed out with just enough time to find a spot and set up before the light started to get interesting.

The LDS Oquirrah Mountain Temple- 9 shot HDR

The LDS Oquirrh Mountain Temple- 9 shot HDR

The low cloud bank worried me a bit but it opened up just enough to let some light in and gave some nice subtle pastel colors for the entire sunset, unfortunately it was so cold and my poor son was freezing to death so I couldn’t stick around for some blue hour shots, but I’m happy with what I shot.

It’s always fun to see how the light develops and the changes that occur in such a short time.

Even 5 minutes makes a big difference.-9 shot HDR

Even 5 minutes makes a big difference.-9 shot HDR

Oquirrah Mt Temple-sunset-horz close-HDR-webWho says you can’t shoot a sunset in black and white?

Oquirrah Mt Temple-sunset-wide2-HDR-BW-webOquirrah Mt Temple-sunset-Vert-HDR-web

My final shot of the night.  - 8 shot HDR

My final shot of the night. – 8 shot HDR

Here was my set up:

set up-webWhat a ride it’s been this past year, I’m so grateful for LensProToGo.com for setting up the challenge and for all the great work they did throughout the year to keep the themes fun and challenging. I feel that it’s made me grow as a photographer and I certainly hope that 2013’s 52 week project will do even more for me. I’ll have more to say about that soon, but for now I just want to thank everyone for your kind words and encouragement,  I hope you’ll stick around for another go around!

 

Happy Shooting, and Happy New year!

Howard

 

 

