Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ever since seeing these shots by amazing local photographer Jeremy Hall I’ve wanted to take a picture of my incredibly talented son and his trumpet. The theme “Flash” gave me the excuse to get him to pose for me so I took two strobes outside in our backyard positioned one on the ground behind him and another in a 20×30 inch softbox with a grid on a boom directly above him and triggered them with my Cactus V5 radio triggers, here are two of my favorites:

Dark Note! The rear flash wasn't set up right on this so I had no rim light, but I loved the very subtle highlights from the gridded softbox above.

Dark Note! The rear flash wasn’t set up right on this so I had no rim light, but I loved the very subtle highlights from the gridded softbox above.

And with a little rim light...

And with a little rim light…

I’ll have to try this again as a profile!

Happy Shooting!

Howard

 

 

