Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This theme nearly ruined my whole 52 week project! Not because it was too difficult to think of a shot, but rather because the shot I wanted had one element that I had absolutely no control over – the weather! So I had to wait, and wait, and wait meanwhile two weeks went by and I didn’t want to post my other shots before posting this one so I missed out on the weekly roundups and being able to say that I finished the challenge without missing a weekly posting, although I do have 52 themes shot and in the bag! (and posted to the challenge page) So expect a flurry of blog posts as I catch up!

Fallen Jewels 50mm f/1.8 + about 6 inches of extension tubes!

Fallen Jewels 50mm f/1.8 + about 6 inches of extension tubes!

I’ve seen numerous macro shots of snowflakes, and I’ve always wanted to shoot them but thought that I’d have to wait until I had a proper macro lens to do so, until I saw a link on G+ to a photographer who shoots them in natural settings using only his 60mm macro lens and I thought I could at least match that with my 50mm f/1.8 and some extension tubes. So I took my Zeikos tubes and added a set of ‘El Cheapo Chinese tubes to them and the 50mm and found out I could get really close to the flakes although it required strobes to get enough light on the snowflake (technically I should be calling them Snow Crystals, but since when have I ever been a technical kind of guy?) Then once a flake landed on the plant I was able to shoot for about a minute before it melted away, here are some of my favorite shots of the three different weather events (hard to call them storms) I was able to capture flakes from.

Double crystals!

Double crystals! This was a very close second place.

Same flake as the first but from a different angle

Same flake as the first but from a different angle

Fragile!

Fragile!

Double flakes-droplet-web

Same flakes – different backdrop

Headon crystal-web

This was so tiny and fluffy!

This was so tiny and fluffy!

And finally…

I used a blue oven mitt to catch this one, I'm not a fan of the textures it shows, but I love the color!

I used a blue oven mitt to catch this one, I’m not a fan of the textures and fibers it shows, but I love the color!

You will definitely be seeing more snowflakes on this blog!! I hope to get a focus rail soon so I can do some focus stacking and really show these beauties off right!

As always thanks so much for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed the snowflakes. If you have any questions please feel free to ask and I’ll try my best to answer.

Happy Shooting!

Howard

 

 

 

 

 

