Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love Black and White images, it’s not something I specifically shoot for enough however so I was really excited to see that this weeks theme was a Black and White Portrait. To give my poor family a break from my camera I decided that I would try to capture a portrait during some Street Photography, another area of photography that I do far less than I would like and find fascinating and infinitely difficult to do well.

It just so happened that my Mom, Wife, and daughter were downtown to attend the Disney on Ice show and I took my son to meet up with them afterwards. After walking around downtown enjoying the new Christmas decorations around the city, we decided to hit the food court at the City Creek Center for lunch. I’ve often heard Ibarionex Perello talk about finding the light and then waiting for the subject to enter. With that in mind I sat us next to the massive two story wall of windows that makes up one side of the food court at the City Creek Center which was filtering and softening the early afternoon light. After about ten minutes this woman and her friend sat down at a nearby table to eat and talk… And I got my shot!

A true friend knows when to talk and when to just listen...

A true friend knows when to talk and when to just listen…

Black and White really makes this shot as it allows the emotion and sincerity of the scene to be seen without the distracting influence of colors that were outside the window.

Later as we walked past an ice rink I captured these two having some fun together

skating couple

Waiting for the train, this shot reminds me so much of Italy that for a split second it feels like I've returned...

Waiting for the train, this shot reminds me so much of Italy that for a split second it felt like I had returned…

After taking a picture it’s always a good idea to turn around and see what’s behind you, often it’s another shot.

 

Biker_BW-webCouple courtyard-wide-web

While he sat people watching I watched him...

While he sat watching others, I watched him.

I really  hope that I’ll be able to do more Street Photography in the future as I find it stimulating, challenging and nerve wracking all at the same time.

Thank you so much for stopping by, I hope you enjoyed the images and that you’ll be inspired to try to make some yourself.

Happy Shooting!

Howard

