Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In general I’ve noticed that I tend to avoid Pink, not because of some traumatic Pepto Bismol related incident in my youth, but rather I think it’s genetic, you see I’m a guy, I do all the typical guy things that tend to gross out women which in turn usually makes me chuckle so when I saw the theme for Week 38 was “Pink” I thought that I was going to be in trouble. It turns out that my “Guy Genes” have been filtering out a part of the color spectrum that is quite prevalent in the world (my daughters room excluded as it has so much pink it’s unavoidably visible, even by me!)

I found myself seeing Pink everywhere which makes me wonder if the world hasn’t surreptitiously been taken over by women right under our big, hairy, snotty noses…? 😉

Whatever the reason it was fun to look for all things Pink this week and as I tried to capture some of it I decided to focus on the way Pink feels to me which is soft and pretty. So I grabbed some flowers I had bought for my wife and set them up on the kitchen table with the diffuser portion of my 5 in 1 reflector behind them to soften the mid day light coming through the glass door and started shooting.

50mm f/1.8 + 20mm extension tube.

As I was shooting the flowers in groups and also alone I noticed that I was preferring the shots of isolated flowers more, as I shot those I would move in close to try some macro views of details. I found that the softness of the shallow depth of field and the color contrast really caught my eye with this particular flower so I ended up shooting quite a few frames of it at varying angles and apertures. I like that it incorporates Pink, but the anchoring contrast of green keeps it from being too overpowering.

This shows the difference of moving back just one inch and changing the aperture from f/2.8 to f/8, It becomes less abstract with a much deeper depth of field.

Here we add yet more depth with an aperture of f/16!

Back to a closer more abstract view:

Still f/16 but I’ve isolated the subject to focus more on form and color

Opening the aperture back up to f/5.6 I softened the image further to really let the colors dominate, with a tease of texture and detail. I found the DoF preview button to be my best friend as I played around while making these shots.

How about some wider views?

50mm f/1.8 @ f/5.6? part of an HDR sequence. I liked the softer look that the non HDR version gave.

Another rose that has opened a little more. 50mm f/1.8 @f/16 iso 100

And a fully open rose! 3 shot HDR @ 2EV with 50mm f/1.8 @ f/16, iso 100

Later that day we had a family party at my sisters home who happens to have some pretty flowers in her front yard, so I grabbed the 50mm and an extension tube and grabbed a few shots, even though most were not Pink I’ve decided to share them here as well.

I loved how they were peeking out through the fence.

I love these type of flowers,(chrysanthemum) the shape of the petals is so cool! 50mm f/1.8 + 20mm extension tube

B&W version of a 3 shot handheld HDR @2EV of the same flower. 50mm f/1.8 + 20mm extension tube.

50mm f/1.8 + 20mm extension tube

And here’s a purple one:

50mm f/1.8 + 20mm extension tube.

Another angle of the same flower

And now the B&W versions!

B&W version of the 3 shot handheld HDR

I really love how these flowers look in black and white! The chrysanthemum has such a cool petal shape.

So that’s me getting in touch with the ‘Pinker’ side of life I guess, I’m really craving a true macro lens but I’m constantly amazed at how well the tubes work with the 50mm.

Happy Shooting!

Howard

