Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Football! There’s no other sport quite like it. I love playing it, watching it, and photographing it. (Anyone need a total amateur to shoot a game, any game? I’m ready and willing)

It just so happened that this weeks theme coincided with the big in state rivalry between Utah’s two biggest schools; The University of Utah and Brigham Young University. It would have been amazing if I could have gotten tickets to the game, but I wasn’t able to and so my back up was to shoot one of the local little league games that they play on Saturday mornings at our nearby park. I had grand visions of munchkin’ running backs slipping through defensive lines, funny touchdown dances and missed high fives,and dog pile tackles, however it also happened to be my daughters birthday and our church’s “Day of Service” and as part of her birthday my daughter wanted “to go help others in our neighborhood”.

I have to say that as a parent you can’t ask for more than for your child to say those words to you, and for her to do it on her special day made it even better. So my shot would be put off and I’d have to improvise but it was all worth it in the end.

Dirty Laces!
My sons football with the 50mm f/1.8 and 20mm extension tube. 3 shot HDR @ 2 EV

When I picked up the ball I considered cleaning it off, but decided to first shoot it dirty and then clean it if I didn’t like the shots. Well I liked the shots! Dirt is texture and I’m a sucker for textures and besides what football is ever clean?

3 shot HDR @ 2EV with the 50mm f/1.8 and 36mm extension tube.

Not too shabby for extension tubes but man, I want a true Macro lens so bad…

That’s all I’ve got to share with you this time, I have a ton of bowling shots to edit from the birthday party (Yes we still had one, and let me tell you bowling after doing so much yard work can affect your game…) I’m not sure yet if I’ll share any of those here, but stay tuned just in case.

As always thank you so much for stopping by.

Happy Shooting!

Howard

