Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The theme for Week 28 of the 52 week challenge was “Texture” As soon as I saw the theme posted I wasn’t sure what I was going to shoot, but I knew that I wanted to avoid rocks, trees, and flowers not because I don’t like them, but because I wanted to challenge myself just a little bit more and hopefully have something a bit more unique to show. What to shoot then? It was pretty obvious to me that I’d be shooting Macro as I find getting close up to something really exaggerates any texture that may be there, and really opens up the abstractness of pretty much any object. It must have been in the morning as I was grabbing breakfast that I saw the Cap’n Crunch’s Crunch Berries cereal sitting in the pantry and light bulbs went off, I don’t know about you but as a kid we only got to eat cereal on weekends and Christmas morning (until we got older and Mom got busier, becoming a single parent will do that) So any Cereal was a treat and Cap’n Crunch was a popular one for us to choose (Lucky Charms was probably #1).

The deceptively enticing colors and sugary goodness of Cap’n Crunch Berry cereal hides the truth that these are actually razor blades designed to tear your mouth apart! 50mm f/1.8 with a 36mm extension tube.

As any cereal connoisseur knows when it comes to eating cereal there is a sweet spot between not enough milk saturation and too much. For Cap’n Crunch it’s about 15 seconds long! Before that the things are razor blade sharp and hard as steel, any longer and it becomes a passable substitute for neon colored paste. Which made shooting these with milk impossible but that’s OK I didn’t want anything to soften the texture. I’m serious when I say these things can draw blood! Now that I’m no longer 8 years old I have to remind myself that eating these comes with a price I’d rather not pay.

A little closer still… 50mm f/1.8 + 36mm and 20mm extension tubes.

While shooting the cereal I was distracted by some nearby textures.

My camera strap! 50mm f/1.8 + 36mm and 20mm extension tubes

My camera strap head on. 50mm f/1.8 +36mm and 20mm extension tubes. (I liked the stray thread at the top)

 

A leg joint from the Gorillapod 50mm f/1.8 + 36mm and 20mm extension tubes. 3 shot HDR

As I was cleaning up the macro photo studio (aka the kitchen table) I happened to look out our screen door and saw this little guy scrambling around. I had the 50mm and extension tubes still on the camera so I just boosted the ISO up to 1600 and took a set of shots trying very hard to get something in focus at such a small depth of field (f/3.5 plus all those tubes = tiny DoF!) not easy under static conditions, it’s a thousand times harder when the spider and I are both moving, he was trying to get off that screen door and I was trying to keep up with him and find a good spot on him to focus, he was only maybe 1/4 inch long so that meant no room for error so I had the focus locked and I was just rocking back and forth to move the focus plane somewhere good ” Hold still you stupid spider” or something along those lines were muttered multiple times.

Here are two shots that I like.

50mm f/1.8 + 36mm and 20mm extension tubes

Are the eyes the window to the soul when you’re on a window? 50mm f/1.8 + 36mm and 20mm extension tubes.

I think he has enough texture to qualify being on this post.

That’s it for me this week (I’m all caught up for the moment – Yay!) Thanks so much for dropping by, I hope you’ve enjoyed the post.

Happy Shooting!

Howard

 

