Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

For Week 7 the Theme was “light” Well if that’s not a wide open subject for photography, I don’t know what is. So how do you photograph light? I pondered that up until it was almost too late to photograph something. Ok that’s not true actually I had several ideas including a cityscape, sunset, long exposure night shots, off camera flash, star trails, light painting etc. Unfortunately I also had finally had enough of this cold that has been hounding me since Christmas, so I finally sucked it up and went to the doctor and found out that I had a sinus infection (I’ve probably had one the whole time) and I was put on some serious meds that just beat me up and sucked out all my energy so all my plans were laid to bed along with me and I ended up shooting my wife’s Valentines Day bouquet and a setting sun through the kitchen window.

Hey it’s still light right? Plus I love backlight, add a flower petal and a macro lens (or in my case extension tubes) and you get magic!

Week 7 - "Light" A small white Daisy backlit by the setting sun. 50mm f/1.8 with a 26mm extension tube.

A few more that I liked:

Another small Daisy, this one had some height variation in it's stamen that was interesting - 6 shot HDR

6 shot HDR

A Lily's stamen 50mm f/1.8 with 26mm + 12 mm extension tubes

I love the small focus plane at these magnifications! - 6 shot HDR

This was my second choice as it showed so many variables of light, ie: harsh, diffused,shadow. - 6 shot HDR

That’s all for week 7, week 8’s theme is laughter which should be fun…Oh so punny! But seriously I should have a few good chances at capturing something interesting as Photowalking Utah is having its 5th annual Portrait lighting photowalk this Saturday (February 25th, 2012) It will be the first time I’ve been able to attend and I’m hoping to catch a few laughs along with many other types of portraits. And we hope as a family (weather permitting) to go ice skating as well which is always good for a few laughs.

Happy Shooting!

Howard

 

