Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This weeks theme of Motion had my wheels spinning as I envisioned a dusk time shot of trains and cars downtown, maybe with some panning thrown in for good measure. Apparently life didn’t like that idea so I was stuck at home wondering what to do, when I remembered a shot of rolling dice I had seen on flickr over a year ago, and I decided to try it out for myself.

Dice-board-dog1The lighting was a two light set up with a LED flashlight on a tripod at camera left to illuminate the “roll” and at camera right a bare YN-560 at 1/16 power and zoomed in to 70mm to freeze the dice. Freezing the action after the roll meant using rear curtain sync so that the dice would motion blur before the flash fired.

The lens was a 50mm f/1.8 at f/13.

I shot a few without the game board, but ultimately thought it told a better story with the game in the background. You can see a few of the other shots below:

Black Dice-1 Dice Pair Orange DiceThose funky yellow dice are from the Millennium edition of Monopoly and have a crazy roll to them.

Thanks for stopping by today, I hope you have a chance to try this technique out for yourself sometime, it was fun trying to time the shot and drop. I eventually got pretty good at rolling them to stay within the frame, I also would highly recommend playing with rear curtain (2nd curtain) sync as it really opens up the creative possibilities with flash.

 

Happy Shooting!

Howard