Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Valentine’s Day, what can I say about it other than I’m glad it’s over!

I’ve seen custom “bokeh” shots before and thought them fun, silly, and a bit cliche, but I’m hardly one to back away from doing something because the “cool people” whoever “they” are say I should. So I took some black construction paper and cut out several heart shapes, I eventually ended up using an empty cereal box for its sturdier cardboard and cleaner edges and found that a heart between 1/2″-3/4″ tall worked great in front of my 85mm f/1.8 lens with a 20mm extension tube attached. I placed the rose about 3 feet in front of the string of Christmas lights that I dug out from under the stairs (of course they were in the very back)

I shot a number of frames varying my composition and liked this one the best, ambient light was provided by a north facing window and of course the Christmas lights themselves. I shot 6 brackets (for the rose) and tonemapped them in Photomatix 5.

Rose_Hearts-wide

Here are a few other shots of the rose alone that I liked, for these I used a YN-560 in a small softbox as the back light/background and a piece of white paper as a reflector for some very subtle fill.Single Rose1_High Key Background Single Rose2_High Key BackgroundThanks for swinging by today I hope these images brought back pleasant memories of Valentine’s Day. If you have a loved one nearby give them a hug and kiss and let them know you love them, and if they’re too far away for that give them a call or message and let them know just the same.

Happy Shooting!

Howard

